MOST TRUSTED NEWSWIRE PRESS RELEASE DISTRIBUTION
PRTODAY / NewswireToday press release distribution service network
Written by / Agency / Source: Joseph Campbell Foundation
Check Ads Availability|e-mail Article

Are you the owner of this article?, Turn it PREMIUM with your LOGO instead - and make it 3rd party Ads-Free! within the next hour!

Joseph Campbell's Classic Myths to Live By Now Available as an eBook - The Joseph Campbell Foundation (JCF) has released Myths to Live By, the first ebook title in its Collected Works of Joseph Campbell series - JCF.Org
Joseph Campbell's Classic Myths to Live By Now Available as an eBook

 

NewswireToday - /newswire/ - San Anselmo, CA, United States, 2011/04/27 - The Joseph Campbell Foundation (JCF) has released Myths to Live By, the first ebook title in its Collected Works of Joseph Campbell series - JCF.Org.

   
 
Your Banner Ad Here instead - Showing along with ALL Articles covering Books / Publishing / Newspapers Announcements

Replace these Affiliate Programs at ANYTIME! Your banner here within the next hour. Learn How!


 

Joseph Campbell (1904–1987) famously compared mythology to a kangaroo pouch for the human mind and spirit: "a womb with a view." In Myths to Live By, he examines all of the ways in which myth supports and guides us, giving our lives meaning. Love and war, science and religion, East and West, inner space and outer space-Campbell shows how the myths we live by can reconcile all of these pairs of opposites and bring a sense of the whole.

Campbell wrote Myths to Live By in 1972, drawing on a series of talks delivered at the Cooper Union Forum between 1961 and 1970. In the tradition of The Power of Myth and Pathways to Bliss, Myths to Live By remains one of Joseph Campbell's most enduring, popular, and accessible works.

In this ebook edition, the first new edition since the book's initial publication, Myths To Live By has been newly illustrated and annotated, and is considerably enhanced through opportunities provided by the electronic format. Editor David Kudler has been able to include 80 illustrations, including some photographs actually taken by Campbell, that would be cost-prohibitive in a print edition; there is also a discussion link at the end of each chapter). Myths to Live By has long served as an easily accessible introduction to the wide scope and range of Joseph Campbell's work.

Robert Walter, Campbell's long-time editor and president of the JCF, said,"Campbell wrote hypertextually, connecting thought to thought and image to image. This new new edition of a classic title proves what we've always thought: that this was a medium ideally suited to Campbell's work."

This edition is currently available exclusive to donors at the Joseph Campbell Foundation website. The ebook can be downloaded as either an ePub or a MobiPocket (.mobi) file. In months to come, the JCF will make Myths to Live By available through commercial ebook retailers, including Apple's iBookstore® and Amazon's Kindle Store®.

Joseph Campbell (1904–1987) was an American author, teacher and mythologist. His thoughts on comparative mythology, first brought to public attention by such works as The Hero with a Thousand Faces and The Masks of God, were thrust into prominence by The Power of Myth, his television interviews with Bill Moyers, which aired just after Campbell's death in 1987. His work is carried on by the Joseph Campbell Foundation.

The Joseph Campbell Foundation (jcf.org) was founded in 1991 to preserve, protect and perpetuate the work of Joseph Campbell, to further his pioneering work in mythology and comparative religion, and to help individuals enrich their lives.

The Collected Works of Joseph Campbell is one of the Joseph Campbell Foundation's prime initiatives. The JCF has sought to bring out authoritative editions of Campbell's work in print, in audio and in video. Print titles have included posthumous works such as Pathways to Bliss, Myths of Light, Thou Art That and the Asian Journals, as well as new editions of existing titles, such as Campbell's classic, The Hero with a Thousand Faces. In audio, the JCF has gathered and released the Collected Lectures of Joseph Campbell Series, while in video, it has worked with partners to produce The Hero's Journey, Sukhavati, and the soon-to-be-completed Mythos series, introduced by Academy Award® winning actress Susan Sarandon.

 
 
Your Banner Ad Here instead - Showing along with ALL Articles covering Books / Publishing / Newspapers Announcements

Replace these Affiliate Programs at ANYTIME! Your banner here within the next hour. Learn How!


 

Written by / Agency / Source: Joseph Campbell Foundation

 
 

Availability: All Regions (Including Int'l)

 

Traffic Booster: [/] Quick NewswireToday Visibility Checker

 

Distribution / Indexing: [+]

 
 
# # #
 
 
  Your Banner Ad showing on ALL
Books / Publishing / Newspapers articles,
CATCH Visitors via Your Competitors Announcements!


Joseph Campbell's Classic Myths to Live By Now Available as an eBook

Company website links NOT available to basic submissions
It is OK to republish and/or LINK any newswire for any legitimate media purpose as long as you name NewswireToday and LINK as the source.
 
Publisher Contact: David Kudler - JCF.org 
415-456-3535 publications[.]jcf.org
 
Newswire Today - PRZOOM / PRTODAY disclaims any content contained in this article. If you need/wish to contact the company who published the current release, you will need to contact them - NOT us. Issuers of articles are solely responsible for the accuracy of their content. Our complete disclaimer appears here.
IMPORTANT INFORMATION: Issuance, publication or distribution of this press release in certain jurisdictions could be subject to restrictions. The recipient of this press release is responsible for using this press release and the information herein in accordance with the applicable rules and regulations in the particular jurisdiction. This press release does not constitute an offer or an offering to acquire or subscribe for any Joseph Campbell Foundation securities in any jurisdiction including any other companies listed or named in this release.

Books / Publishing / Newspapers via RSSAdd NewswireToday - PRZOOM Headline News to FeedBurner
Find who RetweetFollow @NewswireTODAY

Are you the owner of this article?, Turn it PREMIUM with your LOGO instead - and make it 3rd party Ads-Free! within the next hour!


Read Latest Articles From Joseph Campbell Foundation / Company Profile


Read Books / Publishing / Newspapers Most Recent Related Newswires:

European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology Extends Publishing Partnership with Wiley
Wiley Signs Transitional Open Access Agreement with Iowa State University
Cactus Communications Partners with Wiley to Support Journal Authors and Editorial Offices with UNSILO Technical Checks in the Screening of Manuscript
Jisc Partners with Wiley to Bring History of Science Archive to Life
Wiley Partners with DeepGreen Project to Enhance Open Access in Germany
The International Society for Extracellular Vesicles and Wiley Announce Open Access Publishing Partnership
IIM Lucknow Partners with WileyNXT for A Program on Talent Analytics
Wiley Takes Spectral Identification to the Next Level with Launch of KnowItAll 2020
Wiley and CPI Group Bring Print & Distribution Operations Together Under One Roof
Wiley and ResearchGate Announce Cooperation Agreement Enhancing Research Collaboration
Wiley and Bibsam Sign Open Access Agreement to Include 45 Swedish Institutions
Wiley and the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association Announce New Partnership
S&P Global Platts Launches First LNG Bunkering Daily Price Assessments
The Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology and Wiley Announce a Partnership to Publish the FASEB Journal
The National Law Journal Unveils the 2019 NLJ 500

Boost Your Social Network
& Crowdfunding Campaigns


LIFETIME SOCIAL MEDIA WALL
NewswireToday Celebrates 10 Years in Business


PREMIUM Members


Visit  RightITnow, Inc.

Visit  BizJobs.com





 
  ©2021 NewswireToday — Limelon Advertising, Co.
Home | About | Advertise/Pricing | Contact | Investors | Privacy/TOS | Sitemap | FRANCAIS
newswire, PR press releases distribution service magazines engine news alert newsroom press room breaking news public relations articles company news alerts newswiredistribution ezine bizentrepreneur biznewstoday digital business report market search pr firms agencies reports distri-bution today investor relation successful internet entrepreneurs newswire distribution prtoday.com newswiredistribution asianewstoday bizwiretoday USA pr UK today - NOT affiliated with PRNewswire as we declined their partnership offer in 2013
 
PRTODAY & NewswireTODAY are proudly NOT affiliated with USA TODAY (usatoday.com)