PRTODAY / NewswireToday Free press release distribution service network

Written by / Agency / Source: StoneGarden Publishing

Check Ads Availability|e-mail Article


Are you the owner of this article?, Turn it PREMIUM with your LOGO instead - and make it 3rd party Ads-Free! within the next hour!

A Sci-Fi Cubical Comedy - 'Memoirs of a Virus Programmer' - What would drive someone to create a computer virus? In
A Sci-Fi Cubical Comedy - 'Memoirs of a Virus Programmer'

 

NewswireToday - /newswire/ - Portland, OR, United States, 2006/01/01 - What would drive someone to create a computer virus? In "Memoirs of a Virus Programmer," a young programmer begins his career with absurd optimism and transforms into an isolated criminal.

   
 
Your Banner Ad Here instead - Showing along with ALL Articles covering Books/Publishing/Newspapers Announcements

Replace these Affiliate Programs at ANYTIME! Your banner here within the next hour. Learn How!


 

What would drive someone to create a computer virus? In the new novel, "Memoirs of a Virus Programmer" by first-time author Pete Flies, the answer is love and madness. A young programmer named Johnny Pepper begins his career with absurd optimism and gradually transforms into an isolated criminal. The title is available in early January at Amazon, Powell's, Barnes and Noble, and Borders.

Modeled after Voltaire's Candide, the short chapters in "Memoirs of a Virus Programmer" are stuffed with humor. The pace quickens as Pepper struggles against a love-hate relationship with technology. The setting is Minneapolis in the year 2000. Fans of "Office Space" and "Fight Club" will be a target audience, and Flies has described the novel as "Neo-Luddite" literature and "a science fiction comedy."

The naïve Pepper is surrounded by modern character archetypes. From his faceless project manager, to his pontificating cube-mate, to the desperate housewife next door, he stumbles his way through a fictional memoir, making mud of his ideals. The tone and pace of the novel is upbeat: "My manager spoke in a genial manner, and as he spoke, his brushy moustache bounced over his upper lip like a little floor broom at work."

Pepper becomes consumed with his programming: "I looked for my viral insertion point. I opened and closed many files as I searched for something perfectly obtuse, a file that no one really understood or cared about any more."

The publisher is StoneGarden, a San Francisco company (stonegarden.net). The novel is 270 pages long.

About the Author
Pete Flies holds degrees in Computer Science and English. He worked as a software engineer at IBM during and after the dot-com boom. Some of his publications include poetry in the The Long Island Poetry Collective ("The Rebels are Dead"), a humor column for Fever Magazine in Seattle ("Single-n-Lonely, Married-n-Bored"), poems with Ya'Sou Online ("The Migration of Hope and Never," "Tattered Reams," and "On the Unified Holodeck"). Born in Rochester, Minnesota, he now lives and writes in Portland, Oregon and Zurich, Switzerland.

 
 
Your Banner Ad Here instead - Showing along with ALL Articles covering Books/Publishing/Newspapers Announcements

Replace these Affiliate Programs at ANYTIME! Your banner here within the next hour. Learn How!


 

Written by / Agency / Source: StoneGarden Publishing

 
 

Availability: All Regions (Including Int'l)

 

Traffic Booster: [/] Quick Newswire Today Visibility Checker

 

Distribution / Indexing: [+]

 
 
# # #
 
 
  Your Banner Ad showing on ALL
Books/Publishing/Newspapers articles,
CATCH Visitors via Your Competitors Announcements!


A Sci-Fi Cubical Comedy - 'Memoirs of a Virus Programmer'

Company website links NOT available to basic submissions
It is OK to republish and/or LINK any newswire for any legitimate media purpose as long as you name Newswire Today and LINK as the source.
 
  Is this your article?
Activate ALL web links and social stream by Upgrading to Press Release PREMIUM Plan Now!

|
Publisher Contact: Pete Flies 
503-442-3940
 
Newswire Today - PRZOOM / PRTODAY disclaims any content contained in this article. If you need/wish to contact the company who published the current release, you will need to contact them - NOT us. Issuers of articles are solely responsible for the accuracy of their content. Our complete disclaimer appears here.
IMPORTANT INFORMATION: Issuance, publication or distribution of this press release in certain jurisdictions could be subject to restrictions. The recipient of this press release is responsible for using this press release and the information herein in accordance with the applicable rules and regulations in the particular jurisdiction. This press release does not constitute an offer or an offering to acquire or subscribe for any StoneGarden Publishing securities in any jurisdiction including any other companies listed or named in this release.

Books/Publishing/Newspapers via RSSAdd NewswireToday - PRZOOM Headline News to FeedBurner
Find who RetweetFollow @NewswireTODAY



Are you the owner of this article?, Turn it PREMIUM with your LOGO instead - and make it 3rd party Ads-Free! within the next hour!


Read Latest Articles From StoneGarden Publishing / Company Profile


Read Books/Publishing/Newspapers Most Recent Related Newswires:

Hearst Ventures Expands International Presence
Botanical Society of America and Wiley Confirm New Publishing Partnership
Wiley and Instructure Partner to Build Next Generation of Higher Education Courseware
Wiley and International AIDS Society Confirm New Publishing Partnership
American Oil Chemists’ Society and Wiley Confirm New Publishing Partnership
The Society for Leukocyte Biology and Wiley Announce Publishing Partnership The Society for Leukocyte Biology and Wiley Announce Publishing Partnershi
Wiley Partnership with Overleaf Enables Author Collaboration
Wiley Launches New Open Access Journal in Collaboration with the Japanese Society of Gastroenterological Surgery
Australasian Society for Immunology, Inc. and Wiley Confirm New Publishing Partnership
Wiley and StudyAce Announce Partnership to Bring Learning Games, Flashcards and Practice Tests to Psychology and Business Students
The Physiological Society and Wiley Renew Partnership
Wiley, American Society of Plant Biologists and Society for Experimental Biology Partnering on New Open Access Journal - Plant Direct
AAA Extends Partnership with Wiley
Wiley Expands Use of Data to Enhance Student Experiences Throughout the Student Journey
International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis Partners with Wiley to Launch New Open Access Journal

Boost Your Social Network
& Crowdfunding Campaigns


LIFETIME SOCIAL MEDIA WALL
NewswireToday Celebrates 10 Years in Business


PREMIUM Members


Visit  MagLar, Inc.

Visit  RightITnow Ltd





 
  ©2017 Newswire Today — Limelon Advertising, Co.
Home | About | Advertise/Pricing | Contact | Investors | Privacy/TOS | Sitemap | FRANCAIS
newswire, PR press releases distribution service magazines engine news alert newsroom press room breaking news public relations articles company news alerts newswiredistribution ezine bizentrepreneur biznewstoday digital business report market search pr firms agencies reports distri-bution today investor relation successful internet entrepreneurs newswire distribution prtoday.com freenewswiredistribution asianewstoday bizwiretoday USA pr UK today - NOT affiliated with PRNewswire as we declined their partnership offer in 2013
 
PRTODAY & NewswireTODAY are NOT affiliated with USA TODAY (usatoday.com)